My Three Extended Project ideas:

This week I am contemplating different ideas for my work

 

Idea 1:

This idea is the idea of doing a psychological thriller mixed with the much-loved peter pan. I think this is and interesting and different concept for the peter pan image as there are dark hints but very few people display this in their work. Which surprises me because of the many dark adaptations to other Disney films and the research and work that has gone into those pieces of work.

I am considering this idea because it is an interesting concept and I like finding the dark origins of rather happy kids films. I find it fascinating. Also the fact I have seen adaptations but I want to put my own unique twist to it.

It is important to me because it gives me the chance to display my skills and show my creativity and how I can imagine and view a piece of work. Also, it helps me understand the industry, I’ve always lovedPeterr pan and the darkness behind fairy tales, and I wanted to explore that idea further.

The skills I will be using will vary massively, with my understanding of pre-production. I will apply the skills of story writing, script writing and studying locations and assess health and safety.

My target audience will be people who enjoy psychological thrillers and mixing in fairy-tale element which many people love I think it will draw their attention because of that and the unique twist I have added by making it a psychological thriller

I will be researching the author, when peter was first mentioned, the original book of peter pan, before Disney. I will also be researching into psychological thrillers and getting a better understanding of key themes.

Idea 2:

In this idea I want to do an action, based around the spy theme used in action because I find this area of action interesting and there are many films and subjects I can address to. Also id love to have the experience of trying an action as it is a concept not much practiced with students and short films.

For this action short I want to begin it as a seemingly normal person walking down the street, they then meet this stranger who gives them a card with a number and says “call It” she’s confused, but calls the number on her phone.  A voice then says “ You’re next” she looks around and says whop is this but they just hang up. She speedily walks off. She feels uneasy and notices someone is following her, he is wearing gloves, he pulls a knife. She runs, he follows. She runs down this road to a park area she’s sprinting now and he is running after her. She runs around a corner he runs past she slips behind something so he cant see her he looks around confused. She pulls out her phone and rings someone, then says “they found me”

I am considering because I love action films and I find ones with interesting storylines fascinating and the amount of work and planning put into them, also I love the way an action can make you feel. The waves of different emotions I find it amazing and id love to replicate that in my work.

This is important to me because from my childhood I’ve always loved the idea of being a spy and telling my own spy story would really be interesting and an amazing thing to think of and actually bring to life in my work.

The skills I will be using will vary massively, with my understanding of pre production to editing. I will be apply the skills of story writing, scrip writing and studying locations and assessing health and safety. To in production of apply the skills of directing, acting, lighting and sound, to post production which is editing and syncing sound and displaying the understanding of many areas in the industry.

My target audience is 15-25 because action films are much loved however the elements in my work would reflect a younger image of a spy and really a child’s idea of a spy because children have a different idea of what a spy would be but also the fact of the many ways spy’s are represented has an effect on the audience and different age ranges have different concepts and preferences.

The research I will do is into the different variety’s of spy movies as well as action movies, also look at different ideas and common ideas in the films. Also looking into some spy books and see how the author will portray them, looking at books and films aimed at different audiences giving me an idea of how different ages would portray a “spy”

 

Idea 3:

My third and final idea is to do a music video of the song “Cake By The Ocean” by DNCE because I think this is an interesting and fun song where there are many unique scenes which we can create for this song and I feel it will have a comedic feel.

I am thinking of doing this because I find this song a really fun and upbeat song. Meaning there are many ways we can portray this and as it has a summery feel it gives more for us to create and be inventive with our ideas.

The skills I will be using will vary massively, with my understanding of pre-production to editing. I will apply the skills of story writing, script writing and studying locations and assessing health and safety. To in production of applying the skills of directing, acting, lighting and sound, to post production which is editing and syncing sound and displaying the understanding of many areas in the industry.

My target audience is teens, as this is the target audience for the song so I will need to make sure my end product will appeal to all ages of teens.

I will need to research about the song and the lyrics getting an understanding of what they are saying and the basis of the song meaning I can think of ideas relating to these subjects. Also, id has to ask people of the target audience what they would expect of a music video and what they see from this song.

WHY? mission statement:

šWhat three things does Simon Sinek identify as the ‘golden circle’?

  • Why- Very few know why they do it.
  • How – some know how to do it.
  • What- everyone knows what they do.

šWhat is the hierarchy, i.e. what is the most important and what is the least important?

  1. Why
  2. How
  3. What

šWhy does he claim this is the case?

Because people don’t buy something for what you do it’s why you do it.

šSimon Sinek identifies some questions that you can ask yourself about what you do:

šWhat do you do?

I am a film student who creates short films.

šHow do you do it?

I go through the stages of production and create my work using the correct ways.

šWHY do you do it?

I do this because I love film I love creating I would love to become a director. I love film. I love the idea of being a creator of inspiring people.

šHe also identifies a key question that your audience/customers/clients might ask:

šWhat ‘feels right’?

The way to make people feel that it is right is to make people think about why you are doing this not what you are doing.

My Mission Statement:

My purpose is to create, to be a creative person and show my vision, and share my work. Also to show who I am by what I create. My work

 

